Chakvetadze`s Title

2006 XVII International Tennis Tournament

Prize money
$ 2 000 000
$ 1 000 000
$ 1 000 000

The 17th tournament Kremlin Cup by Bank of Moscow was held in Olimpiyskiy Stadium on October 9-15 in 2006.

There was a Russian final at the first time where Nikolay Davydenko faced Marat Safin. No one wanted to lose. Safin wanted to finish year in a good mood as he had an unlucky season and to redeem himself for all the previous years losses on Moscow tournament. Davydenko was dreaming to win the Moscow title at the second time to improve his positions on the race for the spot in Masters Cup. The final clash was spectaculous and kept everyone in suspense up to the umpire's “Game.Set.Match”. It was the second victory on Moscow tournament for Nikolay Davydenko, that he really deserved, he won 6:4 5:7 6:4.

In the women's draw 19-year-old Russian Anna Chakvetadze showed her fighting spirit and her skills in wining deciding points. It helped her to prevailed over the world #5 Russian Nadia Petrova — 6:4 6:4. That success let Anna to reach 16th position skipping 8 steps from #24 WTA.

Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova participated in that tournament she was the youngest tennis player in the tournament'a history ever, she was 15,3 years old. In 2006 there was another tournament's record to be set, the longest match between Russian Maria Kirilenko and Italian Francesca Schiavone was played. They spent 3 h 8 mins on court.

First and second seed faced each other in the finals of doubles tournament: Fabrice Santoro from France and Nenad Zimonjic (Serbia) played against the Czech duo Frantisek Cermak and Jaroslav Levinsky. Santoro and Zimonjic advanced in first set 6:1, and in the second they also proved stronger over their opponents and confirmed their top-seed status in the tournament — 6:1, 7:5.

Francesca Schiavone (Italy) and Kveta Peschke (Czech Republic) managed to win in three-setter final against the Russian Galina Voskoboeva and the Czech Iveta Benesova — 6:1 6:7 6:1.


Nikolay Davydenko
Anna Chakvetadze
Fabrice Santoro
Nenad Zimonjic
Francesca Schiavone
Kveta Peschke